Recipe/Mocktail: I’m calling this the Luke Cage

Because it tastes of “Sweet Christmas”.

No, you’re a nerd.

(Please don’t spoil me I’m only halfway through Jessica Jones and it’s been long enough since I read Alias that can’t remember what happens so please don’t spoil me, my friends are already doing a terrible job at not spoiling me).

Also let’s not bother asking where I’ve been for the whole of November. I’ve been writing a book. I have now finished the book. [170,000 words, thank you for asking]. Also let’s not ask how I think that went because at the end of any given manuscript all I can think is “thank God that’s over, please let me die in peace now”. I also … I’m pretty sure this is actually the longest manuscript I’ve ever produced in a sub-thirty day period so my brain is soup.

The Luke Cage

This makes two servings.

You will need:

  • 1/2 a lemon with the peel off, chopped in four
  • 1/2 an orange with the peel off, chopped in six
  • 2 tsp of gingerbread spice mix *
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • Handful of mixed dried fruit/peel like you can buy for making Christmas pudding.

You will also need:

  • Blender
  • Teapot insert/tea-strainer/muslin type thing
  • Mug
  • Kettle

(I used one of those cheapo versions of a NutriBullet, that worked pretty well. You need to add water for that).

Anyway, whizz all of that around in your blender until it is sludge.

Put half of the sludge in a tea strainer or a muslin or whatever and put that in a mug. Boil some water, pour that through it and let it stew a minute. Drain it, add more honey to taste, boom, hot mocktail.

Also if you want to enbooze it, I did the second serving with a shot of Writers’ Tears (appropriate) and spiced rum. Great stuff for an evening where the wind decided to throw buckets of water at the front of my house for some reason…


 

* Gingerbread spice premix, I have a jar of this knocking around at all times:

  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp ground mixed spice
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ground cardamom (for some reason this is often hard to find, but you can buy it on Amazon, and if you’re in Europe ubiquitous cheapo chain store Tiger often sell it)
  • 1 tsp ground cloves (again often tricky but keep trying, it’s worth it)
  • Optional: a pinch of black pepper, a pinch of wattleseed
2 thoughts on “Recipe/Mocktail: I’m calling this the Luke Cage

Leave a Reply

