Centaurs … IN SPACE

Illustrative genius and all-round champion Emma Weakley occasionally does me the honour of keeping me company during my night shift odysseys, as she lives on the literal other side of the world and is therefore awake during what to her are reasonable hours.

At one point I got a bee stuck in my bonnet about my inability to draw a burly, bearish dude-centaur based on the heavy horses like the Breton, aiming for something with thick legs and thick arms, and being gently thwarted by a total lack of art skills, as I usually am.

Emma swooped in and said: alright, what does this guy look like?

And somehow, from this:

Guy Tautoru

(c) Emma Weakley

We accidentally came up with two whole cultures and histories, a raft of characters, and a plot involving prophecies and repetitions and echoes which neatly mirrored the culture of the main character. You can appreciate, I think, how much not-actually-working-at-work this involved.

I mention this because Guy Tautoru (below) and his new friend Eloquent, of the Byasa, now have their own blog.

Also (c) Emma Weakley

So if you feel like checking out some mental landscaping for this project, or more of Emma’s fantastic art and character designs (currently including Guy in a rage, Eloquent in party gear, and Guy’s Nana Tautoru), and possibly in future some snippets of brain dump or MAYBE EVEN WRITING, WHO KNOWS, please feel free to bookmark or follow:

SOLAR BEAR I: sad party centaurs in space

… we’re very talented people but neither of us can manage titles.

Leave a Reply

