Links Post July

Things other people have done

  • David Firth has put up several albums of his Locust Toybox work up for free/voluntary donation. I found his music via this fantastic Hannibal season 1 edit.
  • Create incredible bespoke books which I only wish I could afford to do a run of.
  • Collate a list (well, it is Buzzfeed, that’s basically what they do) of fun ways to customise t-shirts which don’t involve fabric paint, embroidery, or studs.
  • Determined how to create an emotional connection between the reader and characters, which involves using data from a couple of psychological studies whose major conclusion can be summed up as “people are dicks”.
  • Made what is possibly the most useful website ever, which finds recipes for whatever ingredients you have in the house.
  • Built an entire 2,000-person community underground. Alright, it was built underground a long time ago but I only found out about Coober Pedy recently (and the fact that it’s named after kupa-piti, which is a phrase in the local language meaning “white man’s hole” is straight-up hilarious). If I ever manage to overcome a disinclination to ever spend that long on a plane again and go back to Australia, I think I’d like to have a look.
  • Made a 3-D Food Printer, because why not?
  • Came up with this cunning little circuit-building kit, which I would dearly like to own; littleBits seems like a good solution for someone like me, who enjoyed the electronic engineering portion of the HNC I took in Music Production but who has the soldering capabilities of a fat-handed panda wearing Marigolds. Also I am all about modular everything, whether it’s clothing systems, houses, computers, furniture, or electronic circuit kits.
  • Continuing with my love of modular, DIY, easy-make-to-your-own-design stuff: in development are massive housing-specific Lego-type bricks.
  • Made a very handy tool showing you how people talked dirty in different eras of history. “Handy” if you write a specific type of fiction or just have an inquisitive mind.

Things I have done

Leave a Reply

