Gone, but not forgotten: embroidery & sewing

I have been busy like the proverbial black and yellow flying, buzzing, non-wasp insect of late, and one particular project has been eating up a lot of my free time and braincells. It has involved a lot of embroidery, a lot of wrestling with difficult fabric, a lot of tedious decision-making, cobbling together of several different patterns, and the prerequisite heavy swearing.

It is…

They are a little large on me but they're damned comfortable.
They are a little large on me but they’re damned comfortable.

COMFORTABLE JERSEY TROUSERS WITH POCKETS.

Sorry, wrong photo. I did make those as well. Really, it was:

You can't see it, but I sewed those lace overlays on with holographic thread. Because I could, really.
You can’t see it, but I sewed those lace overlays on with holographic thread. Because I could, really.

A COMFORTABLE JERSEY TOP WITH LACE OVERLAYS ON THE SLEEVES.

Which took less than two hours from start to finish including pattern cutting, despite being a new pattern, so clearly it wasn’t actually that.

Hella Jacket

Oh yeah, it was this one.

Check out those cuffs. They're a pain in the ass to get into and out of. And yes, my face really does look like a white blur.
Check out those cuffs. They’re a pain in the ass to get into and out of. And yes, my face really does look like a white blur.

And this was the embroidery that took me such a hellishly long time:

I cannot begin to describe how fiddly and infuriating this was.
I cannot begin to describe how fiddly and infuriating this was.

Oh and that white thread glows in the dark. Naturally I can already see ALL THE THINGS that are wrong with it, but for the time being I am going to luxuriate in owning a jacket that no one else owns, unless possibly they are in the RSC or something.

Leave a Reply

