Personal Post: I came into my inheritance today.

I “came into my inheritance” today. Or, in practical terms, I received a cheque for about 2 weeks wages, and a small box full of jewellery-related things my grandmother thought I would be able to use from my grandfather’s effects.

There is very little tangible left of his 85 or so years on earth and I don’t know how I feel about that yet.

These photos are of what I’m informed is New Zealand greenstone. My grandparents do not/did not seem like very well-travelled people because they’ve always carried a patina of uncomplaining Presbyterian small-townness around with them, very much self-contained with small lunchboxes and good manners and always reading the road signs, but my grandfather seems to have been all over the sodding world, from Japan to Chile to Norway to India (where he grew up, possibly: it is hard to get facts about his early life because he never talked about it) to New Zealand, to god knows where. Always with plants in mind.

He died at the end of June, while I was somewhere between London, Seoul, and Sydney. I think if nothing else that proves I’m following in his footsteps.

A two-tier box containing a brooch and a copper bracelet on the top (copper bracelets seem to be the only kind my family will wear). The contents of the lower section are arranged in the box the whole lot came in.

This is a button with a safety pin through it. A Royal Engineers uniform button. As these are my grandfather’s effects I’m confused: my grandmother’s father was in the Royal Engineers in WW1 (and was a PoW, possibly in Breslau? Information from my family= blood from a stone). Then again, I know my grandfather served in WW2 (poooooossibly in India?), and I have no idea if he was an engineer or a regular or a medic or ANYTHING BECAUSE NO ONE WILL TELL ME ANYTHING.

A black leather-ish jewellery case with a tray. I am slightly … unsettled, I think is the right word, by some of the things in here as I think they belonged to his sister. My grandfather was one of ten children and by the time my grandmother met him (in their late teens/early twenties, I think? Pretty sure my grandmother was married by twenty), he was an only child. That is kind of a lot of death to be up close to. So regardless of our travels, we’ve led very different lives, because mine was relatively death-free until last year brought an avalanche of corpses with it (and this year has continued in the same vein).

And now I’m wondering what, if anything, of me people will want to keep when I’m gone, or if by that time there will be anything left to keep or anyone left to keep it.

Leave a Reply

